Today’s Question: If I make a mistake when renaming photos in Lightroom Classic is there a way to revert to the original filenames? The Undo command doesn’t seem to be an option for this.
Tim’s Quick Answer: Yes, you can revert photos to their original filename by renaming again with the preserved “Original Filename” metadata field, as long as the photos had been renamed using Lightroom Classic.
More Detail: While it is true that you can’t use the Undo command in Lightroom Classic to revert the filenames for photos after renaming, you can still correct filenames you’re not happy with. That could include simply renaming again using a different template for the filenames, or to rename using the “Original Filename” from metadata.
As long as you renamed photos either during or after import using Lightroom Classic, the original filename will be preserved in metadata in the “Original Filename” field. This field only updates the first time you rename, so it is only available for reverting to the original filenames from when the images were imported into Lightroom Classic.
If you want to revert to the original filenames for a set of photos, start by selecting those photos and choosing Library > Rename Photos from the menu. In the dialog that appears, click the File Naming popup and choose “Edit”. In the Filename Template Editor dialog clear out the large text field and add only the “Original filename” option from the second popup in the Image Name section. Click the Done button and then the OK button and the images will be renamed to reflect the original filenames preserved in metadata.
If you had simply made an error with the template or a custom field such as the Custom Text or Start Number values, you can simply rename again. In general, this would involve sorting the images by Capture Time, making sure there aren’t any filters that would restrict which photos are displayed, selecting all, and then using the Library > Rename Photos command. Just be sure to configure the renaming structure exactly as you want it, and you can update the renaming for the photos based on the changes you made.

